Bold Bolters

Dear God,

Thank you for a great night’s sleep.  I woke up this morning all bundled up in my doona with my feet on one side of the bed and my head on the other.  What was I thinking last night?  If I had a husband I’d have to learn to share the bed … and the doona.  And he’d snore all night and keep me awake.  He’d probably hog the doona himself.  I couldn’t be selfish in my bed anymore.  And he’d be used to being selfish too.  Imagine. Two selfish bed hogs.  It doesn’t bear thinking about.  Thank you for a nice comfy bed and a nice nights sleep with no snoring – except maybe my own – with noone to complain about it.

Continued reading Philippians this morning – of course you already know all of this – but hey … Did you really get Paul rejoicing while he was in chains?  That’s pretty amazing.  What’s even more amazing that the fact that he was in prison encouraged others to preach the gospel with courage.  I guess that’s like what you hear happens in countries where there is persecution.  Here in the west we wilt if we are frowned upon..  I can’t remember the last time I did something bold or courageous for the sake of your gospel or even tried to introduce it to a friend who I thought wouldn’t like talking about your way much.  I need to do that.  If Paul can do chains and others risk them, then surely I can share.  It’s interesting that among all this he encourages the Philippians to conduct themselves in a way that’s worthy of the gospel regardless of what happens.

What does it mean to be worthy of the gospel? Does it mean to keep proclaiming it?  Does it mean to keep away from the sin we repented from?  How do we do that? and what happens if we keep falling over?  Or are you talking about how we face oppressors and how we answer and treat them? Not denying you, but being like Paul and Stephen and Daniel who refused to deny you, but instead proclaimed your name all the more?  I feel like backing away, chanting “I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy” and bolting in fear like in some movie at times.

I’m so glad that you’re a forgiving God.  Father, please help me to live in a way that’s worthy of the gospel – that shows that I’ve repented and that shares that you offer the joy of this grace and mercy to others.  Help me stop – help me want to stop all the sinful things I still do.

Lord help me meet opposition with steadfastness.  Help me to share the gospel with someone this week.  I’m not sure who yet, but please help me to know when the time is right and give me boldness to speak up.

Amen

Share your reflections

