Ostriches, Elephants and Pigs

Dear God,

You have a funny habit of bringing people back again for strange reasons that I really don’t get.  Take the nice lady on the bus from the other day.  I finished up seated next to her again today, thinking again about how to get Gina talking about the gospel and I was about to start praying about it when the lady leans over and says to me, “Excuse me, dear.  Are you alright? You look dreadfully worried about something.  I know you don’t know me, but I will listen if you want to talk.”

I thought.  Well, why not.  What if she’s my encourager?

So I told her that I wasn’t sure that my friend at work knew about Jesus.

“Doesn’t everybody?”

Okay we’re not the encourager.

“No.  Besides,” I added, “even when some people know the story of Jesus, they don’t realise that they still need his forgiveness.”

“Why does she?” asks the lady, then looks up and back at me and says, “this is my stop today, maybe I’ll see you tomorrow.”

She’s an ostrich.  Head in the sand.  No idea about any relevance at all of anything she knows about you.

Right.  Then work.  Lunchtime comes.  Tea room with Gina chatting away, looking for an in –

“Hel-looo Everybody!”

And Scott sits down with his sandwich and coffee across the table from us.

Silence.

An Elephant – a pink elephant with purple spots and orange stripes stands in the middle of the room.

Gina makes some lame excuse and goes back to her work.

“I keep interrupting something, don’t I?” says Scott. “It’s hard in the tea room to have an uninterrupted conversation.  I sometimes organise to head out for lunch if I want to have a serious conversation with someone.”

So I ask him where.  I mean everywhere around here is too noisy or has nowhere to sit.

“Benny’s Bakehouse is not too bad,” he tells me.  “I take people there sometimes to talk when they have questions about God.”

Pause.  The elephant is poised eagerly on a ball in the corner of the room, trunk lifted high …

I ask him straight out – I want to be S – U – R – E sure, “Scott, are you a Christian?”

“Yes.”

The trumpet sounds!

So, Lord, I was able to share with him about trying to find a way to share the Gospel with Gina, but how hard it had been to find an opening.  He was really excited.  He told me how he and Kelly and Graham had been praying for her a lot lately.  He told me how they’ve been meeting in Graham’s office every Monday at lunchtime to encourage each other from the Bible and to pray for each other and others in the workplace.

Father, I ask for one and you provide three in the same day – one in the same department and I’ve always thought that Kelly would make a nice friend  – maybe here’s a chance for that too.

I’m as happy as a pig in mud!

Praise be the the God of Heaven and Earth.

Amen.

2 Responses to “Ostriches, Elephants and Pigs”

  1. Missy Says:

    enjoying re-reading …


Share your reflections

