I’ll Have What She’s Having

Dear God,

How can you put forward such challenges though such everyday things as music lessons?

Saturday morning drum lessons.

The sheep stations have disappeared forever, I think …

I believe the cousins have a new pact.

Emily bounced in today radiating with life.  She ran over and gave me a hug.  She then announces to me:

“Now that I’m God’s friend, I want to do everything differently.  And that includes drum lessons.

“First, I want to pray before we start.”

And she did.  She prayed for me, that I’d teach well; for herself, that she’d learn well; and for us as we talked about her idea.

Next she told me that she wanted to change the songs she was working on, and showed me instead Amazing Grace and one she had heard played on my radio station that she had also seen in my music books before (talk about a memory – she went straight to it). that had a more upbeat tempo and challenging rhythm to it.  Both Christian pieces.

I checked:  You do know that there was nothing wrong with the other ones, don’t you?  I would never teach you music that was bad, even when you weren’t a Christian.”

She nodded.

“But I want to think about the words to these ones more.  Please …”

Okay – so I’m a pushover – but I agree …

… and am rewarded with a squeal of delight and an energetic hug.

The second song is quite challenging for Emily and about the standard I’ve been looking to introduce to her for some time.  It’s great that she’s got the motivation to learn it without being pushed.

The surprise came when Hamish turned up for his lesson.  They used to take it turn about who came first, however I was told this week that Emily would always be first from here-on-in.  Strange.  End of the competitive era?

Karen leaves.  Hamish takes his seat, bouncing with enthusiasm.  He grins at me, than says:

“Now that I believe in God and Jesus and am saved and all that, I want to do everything different and that includes this.  Drum lessons.  I want to do exactly what Emily did.  He looks at me knowingly.

Everything falls into place.

And then he prayed.

Help me Father.  I’m not allowed to speak of you to this child and he’s trying to help me do so without doing so.  If I get on this train I can’t get off.

“What do I tell your father when he wants to know why I am teaching you these songs?” I hand him the music.

“That I refused to play anything else.” He is smiling as he reads the words.

Talk about a rock and a hard place.

“It’s not right to disobey your parents.  You … do what you did at the start … and I’ll call your Mum to come back so I’m allowed to talk about God.”

“NO!” Fear.

“Do that thing!” Pray Hamish – Come on, you can do that well.

“Karen?  Alciana.  Can you come back here for a while please?  I need you here so that Hamish and I can discuss his song choices.”

“Can’t.  I’m at the hairdressers.  Why do you need me there?  You’ve always managed without me before.”

“He hasn’t wanted to play hymns and Christian music before.  You know what Joel’s like.”

“Just tell him ‘No'”

“He says he won’t play anything else.”

Karen sighs.

“Well, I guess its only music.  It can’t do any real harm.  Just don’t try and teach him anything about the words or what they mean.”

“You sure about that?” I ask, disbelieving that this might make it through, “Joel will agree to that?”

“I know Joel can get a little ridiculous about these things, but this should be okay.  Leave him to me.”

She hangs up.  I stand and blink.

I stand, look at the phone in bewilderment and just blink for several moments before hanging it up and turning back to Hamish – on his knees, hands still clasped so tightly his knuckles are white …

“Well – it looks like we’ve got a green light on the songs – but no questions to me about the words.  You’re going to have to find someone else for that, okay?

Did I say he was on his knees?  Next thing I know he is leaping in the air and running in circles around my music room.  I’ve never heard him holler such a victory whoop! And for Hamish – that’s saying something.

“Just wait til I tell Emily!”

What a morning!

Speaking of mornings, I had better get stuck into the afternoon.  I have a house to clean, shopping to do and a dinner to prepare.  Bennie is coming to dinner tonight after she finishes work, then I’m driving her home later on.  Ollie is away at a men’s retreat for the weekend.

I believe I’ll also be sharing in the honour of painting the shafts of the handles of his tools baby-doll pink in preparation for the Church working bee next week.  Bennie seems to think that this will make it easier to keep track of the tools  🙂

Father, I pray that Joel will be reasonable about Hamish’s song choices.  Thank you for the enthusiasm that Hamish and Emily have to grow and be transformed in you.

Amen

See today Hamish Johns’ Secret Diary for an update on his journey.

Share your reflections

